

156 Water Street | Exeter, NH 03833 603-778-0885 | www.theRPC.org

MINUTES ANNUAL MEETING Rockingham Planning Commission

June 12, 2019 Galley Hatch Restaurant, Hampton NH

Commissioners Present: Jim Doggett, Mary Allen (Newton); Andrew Brubaker, Richard McDermott (Hampton Falls); Ann Carnaby, Barbara Kravitz, Mark Olson (Hampton); Peter Coffin, Glenn Coppelman (Kingston); Lucy Cushman (Stratham); Alan Davis (Hampstead); Gwen English, Langdon Plumer (Exeter); Lauri Etela, Josh Jeffrey, Phil Wilson (North Hampton); Jace Grote, Phil Winslow (Rye); Denis Hebert, Chris Cross (Newington); Julian Kiszka, Tim Moore (Plaistow); Mike McAndrew (New Castle); Christina McCarthy (Raymond); Peter Merrill (Kensington); Michael Rabideau (Seabrook); Ned Raynolds (Portsmouth); Michael Turell (Atkinson); James VanBokkelen (South Hampton)

Guests: Jason Bachand (Hampton); Heidi Bogle (Durham); John Broderick Jr. (Guest Speaker); Patricia Bushway (State Rep); William Clark; Reinhild Davis (Hampstead); Jeff & Lisa Dean; Jay Diener (Hampton); Carolyn Fetter; Richard Furber; Francine Hart; Ann Hebert (Newington); Barbara Kiszka (Plaistow); Sunny & Jodie Kravitz (Hampton); Leslie Lafond; Jim Lee; Karri Makinen (Salem); Ann McAndrew (New Castle); Kate Murray (State Rep); Kimberly Olson (Hampton); Laura Pantelakos (State Rep); Rick Russman (Friends of Kingston Open Space); Peter Somssich (State Rep); Sheri Turell (Atkinson); Lisa Wilson (North Hampton); Mae Winslow (Rye); Nancy Stiles (State Rep); Cyndi Cross (Newington)

Staff: Tim Roach (Executive Director); Scott Bogle (Sr. Transportation Planner); Stephanie Gardner (Intern); Julie LaBranche (Sr. Planner); Christian Matthews (Transportation/GIS Analyst); Annette Pettengill (Business Manager); Robert Pruyne (GIS Manager); Jennifer Rowden (Sr. Planner); David Walker (Assistant Director)

- 1. Social Hour
- 2. Dinner
- 3. Annual Meeting Program
 - a. Election of Officers/Executive Committee for FY 2020

Roache stated that the Nominating Committee of the RPC had met to consider nominations for Officers for the upcoming fiscal year and that prior to those meetings an announcement for nominations was made that the March 13th and April 10th Commission meetings. The Nominating Committee developed a slate of Officers and Roache read it aloud. He asked if there were any nominations from the floor – there was none. Plumer moved to accept the proposed Slate of Officers as presented; McDermott seconded. SO VOTED.

b. Director Comments -Tim Roache, Executive Director

Roache stated that the past year has been one of many transitions and has continued to be challenging. The biggest challenge has been redeveloping the RPC to make sure it's at the top of mind for all our constituents and towns. He noted the new logo and URL, which will be complimented by the new services catalog coming soon. He expounded on using these tools to maintain familiarity with member towns and provide them access to transportation and land use planning concepts. He also emphasized how towns can be aware of mental illness when planning, just like they should do for physical disabilities.

c. Welcoming Remarks-Barbara Kravitz

Chairman Kravitz welcomed attendees and introduced John T. Broderick. She gave a brief summary of his accomplishments.

d. Guest Speaker – John T. Broderick – Changing the Culture of Mental Illness: It's Way Past Time

e. Recognitions & Awards

Roache announced this year there are two recipients of the Hayden Award. The first is Linda Harvey of the Salem Conservation Commission. She was nominated by Karri Makinen and Ross Moldoff for her outstanding example of volunteerism and commitment to her community. Her long hours and behind the scenes research has saved the town and its residents a lot of money and has been instrumental in many aspects of conservation efforts. Karri Makinen accepted the award on behalf of Linda.

Coppelman announced that Friends of Kingston Open Space (FOKOS) is the second recipient of the Hayden Award. He talked about the dedication John Hayden had towards conservation and natural resources and how he was honored to nominate someone from his community for this award. He noted the many accomplishments of FOKOS in the efforts of conservation and notable land protection successes. Rick Russman accepted for FOKOS and thanked the RPC.

Roache presented Jay Diener as this year's recipient of the Quinlan Award. He noted that this award honors contributions to regional planning and inter-municipal communication. Diener has given Hampton many years of service and has been instrumental in the vision and commitment of gathering like-minded citizens to join him to accomplish things like a Handbook for the residents of Hampton, and organized groups such as the Seabrook/Hampton Estuary Alliance (SHEA), and the formation of the Coastal Hazard Adaptation Team (CHAT). He has worked diligently to find common solutions. Diener accepted his award and thanked the RPC for the recognition.

Roache presented Tenure Service Awards to the following Commissioners: Ann Carnaby, Hampton: 5 years Lang Plumer, Exeter: 10 years Mark Traeger, Sandown: 10 years (not present) Francis Chase, Seabrook: 10 years (not present) Roache also presented an award to Scott Bogle, Senior Transportation Planner, for his unwielding tenacity moving the Hampton Branch project forward, and his work on other significant projects related to bike and pedestrian planning such as Stratham Safe Routes to School and Bicycle Level of Traffic Stress.

Meeting adjourned at 9:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Annette Pettengill Recording Secretary