MAP 2: ATLANTIC COAST COMMUNITIES

New Hampshire's Atlantic Coast communities include Hampton, Hampton Falls, North Hampton, New Castle, Portsmouth, Rye, and Seabrook. These communities are in the southeastern corner of the state adjacent to the Atlantic Ocean. The Atlantic Coast is characterized by tidal and riverine systems and landforms. The southern Atlantic Coast consists of a barrier beach system including the extensive salt marshes of the Hampton-Seabrook Estuary, a broad sand beach at Hampton, and dune systems in Hampton and Seabrook. The northern Atlantic Coast is marked by prominent bedrock headlands, small cove beaches and tidal waterways that extend far inland. The primary inland riverine systems include the Taylor River and Winnicut River. These communities are often subject to both upland freshwater flooding and coastal storm flooding during storm events. Additionally, these communities face significant potential impacts to homes, critical infrastructure and road networks from increasing sea level rise and frequency of storm surges.

