

156 Water Street, Exeter, NH 03833
Tel. 603-778-0885 ◆ Fax: 603-778-9183
email@rpc-nh.org ◆ www.rpc-nh.org

## 2017 NOMINATION FORM JAMES HAYDEN & DANIEL QUINLAN AWARDS

(Nominations must be received by the Nominating Committee of the Rockingham Planning Commission at the postal or email address above on or before **5:00 PM on** Monday **April 24, 2017**. An explanation of the background and intent of each award is on the reverse of this form.)

Da	te:	
Ιŀ	nereby nominate	for consideration
for	the Daniel Quinlan Award	James Hayden Award
Α.	NAME / ADDRESS / PHONE / EMAIL OF NOMINEE	:
В.	AFFILIATION OF NOMINEE:	
C.	SUMMARY OF SERVICE, QUALIFICATIONS, ACCOMPLISHMENTS OR OTHER REASONS FOR NOMINATION (please attach additional information as appropriate to aid the Committee on its review):	
D.	NOMINATION SUBMITTED BY:	
	Name: Da	ate:
	Affiliation:	
	Phone: En	nail:
	Signature:	

## **James Hayden Award**

The James Hayden Award recognizes those in the region who have made significant contributions to their communities and/or the greater region in natural resource conservation and planning. The award was established in remembrance of Jim Hayden, RPC Commissioner from Newfields and District Conservationist for the Soil Conservation Service (now Natural Resources Conservation Service) for Rockingham County for many years. Jim retired from the SCS in the mid 1980s and became RPC Commissioner in 1988. He was instrumental in the development of the County Soil Survey and in efforts to protect the natural resource base of the County and region in the face of rapid growth and development. He contributed to the creation of many of the essential tools that most towns still use today in planning, including wetlands, shoreline and aquifer protection overlay zoning districts and also promoted the use of soil and resource mapping in community and site planning. Previous recipients of the Hayden award include: Forest Griffin of North Hampton & Exeter (2003), Larry Smith of East Kingston (2007), Alice Tonry of Hampton Falls (2008), Mary Currier of RCCD (2009); The Tucker and French Families of Kingston (2010), Sue Foote, Seabrook Conservation Commission and Planning Board (2011), Chris Ganotis on behalf of North Hampton Forever Land Conservation Initiative (2012); Phil Auger, Rockingham County Forester and Land Conservationist (2013), and Jill Senter, Plaistow Conservation Commission (2014) and Bob Goodrich, Stratham Conservation Commission, RCCD Board of Supervisors, State Conservation Committee (2015) and The Walker Family of Monahan Farm (2016).

## **Daniel Quinlan Award**

The Daniel Quinlan Award recognizes those in the region who have made significant contributions to sound community and regional planning and who have fostered intermunicipal cooperation and collaboration in the region. The Daniel Quinlan Award was established in memory of Dan Quinlan, a long serving RPC Commissioner, Executive Board member and RPC Chairman from Windham. exemplary over many years in service both to his Town (as library Trustee, Planning Board member and in other roles) and to the regional community as RPC Commissioner and member, at various times. He worked to ensure the best for the Commission, but also to ensure that the Commission achieved a high standard of service for his community and the region. His skill was to bring people together to solve problems. Previous recipients of the Quinlan award include: Merilyn Senter, Plaistow Commissioner (2005); Cliff Sinnott, RPC Executive Director (2006); Glenn Coppelman, Kingston Commissioner (2008) Ted Tocci, Hampton Falls Commissioner (2009); Tim Moore, Plaistow Commissioner (2010); Warren Bambury Hampton Commissioner (2011), Steve Miller Great Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve and Sherry Godlewski of NH Dept. of Environmental Services, Co-Chairs of the Climate Adaptation Workgroup; and Don Clement, Exeter River Local Advisory Committee Chair and Exeter Commissioner (2013) and Phil Wilson, No. Hampton Commissioner (2014), Theresa Walker, RPC Natural Resources Consultant, ESRLAC Staff (2015), and Pete Richardson, ESRLAC Chair, Exeter CC member (Awarded posthumously 2016).